15 Saturdays Rosary


For fifteen consecutive Saturdays the faithful pledge to pray the Holy Rosary

with each week focusing on one Mystery and the specific intention.

The Fifteen Saturdays of the Most Holy Rosary, by Blessed Bartolo Longo.


Normally on Monday and Thursday


  • Week 1 - Annunciation

  • Week 2 - Visitation

  • Week 3 - Nativity

  • Week 4 - Presentation

  • Week 5 - Finding in the Temple


Normally on Tuesday and Friday


  • Week 6 - Agony in the Garden

  • Week 7 - Scourging at the Pillar

  • Week 8: - Crowning with Thorns

  • Week 9 - Carrying of the Cross

  • Week 10: Sept. 2 - Crucifixion


Normally on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday


  • Week 11 - Resurrection

  • Week 12 - Ascension

  • Week 13 - Pentecost

  • Week 14 - Assumption

  • Week 15 - Coronation

We are fully aware of an optional 4th mystery, the Luminous, which were introduced in 2002 by Pope John Paul II in his Rosarium Virginis Mariae.

He has stated himself that these are a stand-alone for Thursdays.

The "“luminous” mysteries – during this phase of Christ's life, I think that the following can be fittingly singled out:

  1. his Baptism in the Jordan,
  2. his self-manifestation at the wedding of Cana,
  3. his proclamation of the Kingdom of God, with his call to conversion,
  4. his Transfiguration, and finally,
  5. his institution of the Eucharist, as the sacramental expression of the Paschal Mystery."

(Rosarium Virginis Mariae)


  • The complete and traditional Holy Rosary consist of the Joyful mysteries, the Sorrowful mysteries and the Glorious mysteries.

  • Blessed Bartolo Longo was living between 1841 – 1926.

Pope JP II wrote in his Rosarium Virginis 2002 that "According to current practice, Monday and Thursday are dedicated to the “joyful mysteries”, Tuesday and Friday to the “sorrowful mysteries”, and Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday to the “glorious mysteries”

He continued with the following question:

"Where might the “mysteries of light” be inserted?"

  • The decision is to remove the Saturday Glorious Rosary. Then the JoIful Thursday Rosary is moved to the Saturday instead which in return creates an opening for the Thursday Rosary.

In our opinion, Pope JP II should have said "Get behind me Satan" and added his luminous Rosary as a seperate stand-alone enhancing the joy of praying the Rosary.
The main reason for our opinion is the following:

  • Monday is Joyful, Birth of Jesus.
  • Tuesday is Sorrowful, death of Jesus.
  • Wednesday is Glorious, ressurrection of Jesus.
  • Thursday is Joyful, Birth of Jesus.
  • Friday is the classic Friday and Jesus on the Cross - death.
  • Saturday is then Ressurrection of Jesus.
  • Sunday is Sunday and Ressurection.

    It is NOT:

Monday is Joyful and birth of Jesus.
Tuesday is Sorrowful and death of Jesus.
Wednesday is Glorious and ressurrection of Jesus.

Thursday is suddenly Life and Works of Jesus..
Friday then is Death of Jesus
Saturday is then Birth of Jesus.
Sunday is Sunday and Ressurection.

  • First of all, this does not match the "normal" way of life.
  • Second, Popes have, for centuries, prayed the Rosary, considered to be a spiritual weapon.
  • Battle of Lepanto was won and the Novena to Our Lady of Victory is prayed before a Rosary.

Pope JP II writes in his Rosarium:

"Numerous predecessors of mine attributed great importance to this prayer. Worthy of special note in this regard is Pope Leo XIII who on 1 September 1883 promulgated the Encyclical Supremii Apostolatus Officio a document of great worth, the first of his many statements about this prayer, in which he proposed the Rosary as an effective spiritual weapon against the evils afflicting society. Among the more recent Popes who, from the time of the Second Vatican Council, have distinguished themselves in promoting the Rosary".

Why then this sudden change?

Why break up a prayer which is "an effective spiritual weapon against the evils afflicting society"