"The principal human virtues are called the cardinal virtues, under which all the other virtues are grouped and which are the hinges of a virtuous life. The cardinal virtues are: prudence, justice, fortitude, and temperance."

(cccc. 380)

Prudence* is defined as "the ability to govern and discipline oneself by the use of reason". The ability to reason means also to choose the right decision, means or path. Prudence guides the other virtues by pointing out their rule and measure.

Synonyms are: Alert-, careful-, and cautiousness.

Justice* is defined as "the quality of being just, impartial, or fair." Is there a hunger for truth and justice among those who are with or without faith?

Synonyms are: Fair, Right and Equity.

Fortitude* is defined as "strength of mind that enables a person to encounter danger or bear pain or adversity with courage".  Fortitude assures firmness in difficulties and constancy in the pursuit of the good.

Synonyms are: Backbone, Constancy and Loyalty.

Temperance* is defined as "habitual moderation in the indulgence of the appetites or passions". Temperance moderates the attraction of pleasures, assures the mastery of the will over instincts and provides balance in the use of created goods.

Synonyms are: Alert-, careful-, and cautiousness.

*Definitions arrives from


"The theological virtues have God himself as their origin, motive and direct object. Infused with sanctifying grace, they bestow on one the capacity to live in a relationship with the Trinity. They are the foundation and the energizing force of the Christian’s moral activity and they give life to the human virtues. They are the pledge of the presence and action of the Holy Spirit in the faculties of the human being." (cccc. 384)

The three Divine Virtues are:




in Latin: